Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is drawn from citizens who live and work in the Johnson County area and are actively engaged in our communities. They are dedicated leaders from the public, private, and nonprofit sectors.

The Board provides organizational leadership, oversight, and guidance to the Community Foundation’s competitive grantmaking. They are committed to addressing current issues while preparing for a healthy and vibrant future.

Charlie Nusser

CFJC President, Hands Jewelers

Todd Jacobson

HJR Financial, Vice President

Sarah Richardson

CFJC Secretary, Barker Apartments

Dean Price

CFJC Treasurer, RSM (Retired)

Michael Benning

University of Iowa

Laura Bergus

Hayek, Moreland, Smith & Bergus

Susan Brennan

Iowa City Community School Foundation

Robert Dvorsky

Iowa Senate - District 37 (Retired)

Sherri Furman

UI Center for Advancement

Nick Hatz


Pat Heiden

Oaknoll (Retired)

Keith Jones

Hills Bank (Retired)

Nate Kaeding

Build to Suit, Inc.

Sarah Jean Leonard

US Bank

Art Nowak

DDS, (emeritus) University of Iowa College of Dentistry

Anna Moyers Stone

MidwestOne Bank

Bruce Teague

Caring Hands and More, Iowa City Mayor

Jason Wagner


Jaime Watts

Pugh Hagan Prahm PLC

Paula Weigel

University of Iowa College of Public Health

Mary Westbrook

Community Volunteer